| Documented long-term stability / end-of-life |
Published proofChemistry up to 3,200 L per filter; microbiology up to 3,000 L per filter, for a nominal service life of 3,000 L per filter |
Partial proofBroad test file, but the identified tests do not track performance up to the ≈ 11,356 L claimed per element |
Published proofMany criteria measured up to 3,000 L per CF163W filter; some performance figures decline significantly with volume |
Partial proofRecommended replacement after 6 months; cumulative volumes often not stated in public data |
Very partialBacteria up to 300 L; other families mainly tested at start-up versus 22,000 L claimed per pair |
Partial proofChlorine 300 L, metals 50 L, detailed PFAS results 35 L versus ≈ 11,356 L claimed |
Partial proofPFAS up to 1,500 L and NSF® chlorine up to 4,000 L versus 20,000 L claimed per pair |
Not demonstrated≈ 22,700 L claimed per pair; public reports identified over 3 to 5 L and on an older K8627 system |
Not publicly quantifiableMicrobiological tests cited, but filtered volume not stated; replacement recommended after 6 months |
Not demonstrated over timeClaimed service life of 2 years; recent tests but mainly one-off |
Not demonstrated up to 11,350 LRecent analyses published, but no public follow-up up to the claimed capacity |
| Published independent analyses with readable protocol and volumes |
Published proofIndependent reports, readable protocols and volumes; several measurement points up to 3,000 / 3,200 L per filter |
Published evidence, but scatteredSeveral independent reports exist; some volumes are low or do not track performance up to the claimed service life |
Published proofDetailed datasheet, laboratory and volumes clearly published up to 3,000 L per CF163W filter |
Published proofTest data and certifications accessible, but cumulative volume is not always stated |
Partial proofReports accessible; 300 L for bacteria, several other tests at start-up |
Partial proofIAPMO reports accessible, but tests target volumes far below the claimed service life |
Partial proofReports accessible, with volumes varying by contaminant |
Partial proofThird-party reports available, but dated 2020 and relating to a K8627 system; correspondence with the current K8626 is not established |
Partial proofIndependent laboratories cited by Katadyn; full reports and volumes not published on the datasheet reviewed |
Published evidence, but one-offSeveral recent reports accessible; little litre-by-litre follow-up over use |
Published evidence, but one-offPublished French laboratory analyses; volumes of some tests not stated |
| Analyses according to standards / accredited laboratory |
Published proofISO/IEC 17025 laboratories; NSF®/ANSI protocols or other methods identified by contaminant |
Partial proofSeveral independent laboratories and normative references, but an older and heterogeneous test file |
Published proofIAPMO R&T; NSF/ANSI 42, 53 and P231; ISO 17025-compliant laboratory |
Published normative evidenceNSF®/ANSI 42, 53 and 401 for specific performance claims; NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 for lead content |
Partial proofSGS / other laboratories; some tests reference NSF®/ANSI or EPA, others use internal methods |
Partial proofIAPMO; tests according to NSF®/ANSI 42/53 on certain criteria, at low volumes |
Partial proofLaboratories and NSF®, EPA, APHA or AOAC methods depending on contaminant |
Partial proofPublic laboratory reports, but old and not clearly linked to the current K8626 / K8012 |
Partial proofBachema cited as an independent laboratory; methods and volumes not detailed on the public datasheet |
Partial proofMeasurlabs ISO/IEC 17025 for certain tests; other laboratories depending on contaminant family |
Partial proofIndependent French laboratories, including analyses stated as performed under COFRAC accreditation according to published documents |
| Heavy-metals analyses under NSF® 53 conditions (pH 6.5 / 8.5) |
Published proofSeveral metals tested at pH 6.5 and 8.5, with measurements up to 3,200 L per filter |
Published proofMetal tests exist at pH 6.5 and 8.5; no public follow-up up to 3,000 gal |
Partial proofMetals tested according to NSF®/ANSI 53 up to 3,000 L per CF163W filter; no dual pH 6.5 / 8.5 reading identified |
Partial proofLead published at pH 6.5; no dual pH 6.5 / 8.5 reading for Ultra Sterasyl |
Partial proofThirteen metals tested at start-up; some NSF®/ANSI 53 references |
Partial proofLead, cadmium and mercury tested up to 50 L, at approximately pH 6.5 only |
Partial proofMetals published, but pH conditions not equivalent to a full 6.5 / 8.5 reading |
Partial proofLead and mercury tested over about 3 L in a 2020 K8627 report; no NSF® 53 protocol at both pH values identified |
No comparable evidence identifiedNo public heavy-metals file under pH 6.5 / 8.5 conditions |
Partial proofMetals tested, without a public protocol equivalent to NSF® 53 at both pH values |
Partial proofPublished metal analyses, but no public protocol equivalent at both pH values |
| NSF® / ANSI certification: exact nature of the certification |
NSF®-listed filterUltimate Star Filter® USF-SWF-001: NSF/ANSI 42, material requirements only; lead-content requirements also assessed |
Black Berkey® not NSF® listedThe Berkey systems currently NSF® listed use Phoenix elements, which are different from the Black Berkey® elements compared here |
Tests according to standards; no certification identifiedCF163W tested according to NSF/ANSI 42, 53 and P231; no NSF® product listing identified |
Published proofUltra Sterasyl: NSF/ANSI 42 particulates, NSF/ANSI 53 cysts/turbidity, NSF/ANSI 401 microplastics, NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 lead content |
No product certification identifiedTests according to certain standards must be distinguished from NSF® certification |
NSF®-listed componentEuroGuard carbon block: NSF/ANSI 42, material and structural-integrity requirements only |
Published proofPCC8/KokoCarb: NSF/ANSI 42 chlorine / taste / odour up to 4,000 L; Phoenix systems also listed |
NSF® documents availableNSF/ANSI 42 and 372 on certain products/components; exact scope must be tied to the specific model and component concerned |
No NSF® certification identifiedFor the Gravidyn cartridge compared |
No NSF® certification identifiedLaboratory reports are published, but no NSF® listing identified |
Published proofOrinko cartridges: NSF/ANSI 42 for material safety only; NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 for lead content |
| Published material compliance (REACH, RoHS, NSF 372 or equivalent) |
Published proofREACH published: European compliance regarding chemical substances in materials; USF-SWF-001 filter NSF® listed for material requirements |
Not identified for Black Berkey®Current 372 listings concern systems fitted with Phoenix filters |
No public evidence identified |
Published proofNSF/ANSI/CAN 372 on listed Ultra Sterasyl systems/cartridges |
No public evidence identified |
Partially documentedNSF/ANSI 42 for the carbon block on materials/integrity; NSF 372 claimed by the manufacturer |
Published proofNSF® material requirements and lead content documented in Phoenix listings |
Documents availableNSF/ANSI/CAN 372 assessments and material documents published for certain components/systems; exact coverage of the K8626 must be checked |
No public evidence identified |
No public evidence identified |
Published proofNSF/ANSI 42 material safety + NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 lead content |